The Art and Practice of Managing Influence
Monday, February 6, 2023
2:00pm-5:00pm Eastern / 1:00pm-4:00pm Central / 12:00pm-3:00pm Mountain / 11:00am-2:00pm Pacific
Directions: Online Course,

The Art and Practice of Managing Influence


Presenter:  Deb McMahon
Cost: $45.00

Course Description: 
The Behavioral Influence Stairway Model (BISM) serves as the premier model for crisis intervention throughout the negotiation community. The key element of the BISM is INFLUENCE which is dependent upon both rational thinking by the person in crisis and the credibility of the negotiator. Once rational thinking has been restored (de-escalation) and the negotiator has credibility with the subject (rapport), influence becomes the manner for gaining voluntary compliance. This presentation will assist negotiators in understanding the differences between control, power and influence, sources of influence as well as the inner nature of influence. Most importantly, negotiators will learn how to leverage their styles of influence and the laws of reciprocity and likability as well as overcoming resistance to influence.


Training Objectives:
  1. Distinguish between control, power, and influence 
  2. Identify sources of influence 
  3. Identify the inner nature of influence 
  4. Identify three ways to influence
  5. Identify styles of influence 
  6. Identify reactions to influence 
  7. Identify influence factors

Who Should Attend: 
Patrol officers, CIT officers, crisis negotiators, and tactical officers.


Student Information

 First Name:
 Last Name:
 Position/Title/Rank:
 Email Address:
 Work Phone:
 Cell Phone:
 Re-Type Email Address:

 Agency/Organization Information

 Agency/Organization Name:
 Address 1:
 Address 2:
 City:
 State:
 Zip:

 Training Coordinator/Supervisor Information

 Coordinator Name:
 Coordinator Email:

 Registration Comments

 (optional) Please enter any additional information or notes about this course registration:



Cost per person: $45

Method of Payment:
 Pay Later (Agency Check, Credit Card, or At The Door). Invoice will be Emailed.    Credit / Debit Card

Credit / Debit Card Information (all fields required)
Card Type

Cardholder's First Name

Cardholder's Last Name

Credit Card Number

Exp Date
(e.g.: 05/2024)
Security Code

 

Cardholder's Billing Street Address

Billing City

Billing State
(2-character state code)
Billing Zip Code

Billing Country
(2-character country code)